Big Red vs. Big Blue

The mighty gladiators enter the arena.

Summer means one and only one thing: soda.  The soda companies go absolutely crazy filling the shelves with new sodas, old sodas in new packaging, and limited edition sodas will be gone as soon as Fall rolls around. It’s become something of a ColuMn™ tradition to review some of the wackier sodas that drop as soon as the weather warms up and this summer is no exception.

A while back I briefly mentioned Big Blue back in May, 2010 in one of Sparks’ Sandbox entries.  I stated, “Other than the color, it IS Big Red.”  One reader took an issue with that assessment, writing, “It’s kinda funny. I recently did a review on Big Blue. It does not taste like Big Red, Big Red tastes like bubblegum, while Big Blue really tastes like a creme soda.”  The challenge was on.

But then I couldn’t find any Big Blue. The local convenience store no longer stocked it.  I considered paying way too much on ebay, but my pals at the convenience store came through, and not too long ago I was able to pick up one more bottle of Big Blue.

It was important for me to get the sodas in the same type of bottle.  It can be tough to find big red in a 20-ounce plastic bottle, but I stuck to my guns and finally dug one up.  I was all set.

The first step was to determine how I’d go about reviewing the two sodas.  I chose the blind taste test to start with, pouring a shot of each, closing my eyes, mixing them up, and then drinking each in turn.

The results were somewhat surprising.

Tasting just a shot, I thought that the Big Red tasted more like cream soda.  But then I took the second shot and honestly couldn’t tell the difference.  Forced to guess, I guessed that the Big Red was Big Blue and vice versa.  I was wrong.

Next I decided to just take swigs from the bottles, not blindfolded.  This time I was able to detect a slight difference between the two.  The Big Red clearly had more of a bubble gum taste, while the Big Blue was definitely cream soda.  They both taste an awful lot like cream soda, but there is a very subtle additional flavor profile of bubble gum.

So, I guess Jason Voorhees was right.  The two really are almost identical, but there is a very subtle difference.

Big Red is still my favorite, which is good since I haven’t seen a bottle of Big Blue outside of my refrigerator in months. I like cream soda okay, but it’s really never something I buy. I’ve got a history with Big Red, though, so it’s a pretty good bet that I’ll buy it again at some point.

So this is probably my last Big Red-related article, unless they come out with Big Green at some point.  Though if they come out with Big Brown, I might skip that one.

Big Brown?

7 thoughts on “Big Red vs. Big Blue

  1. Big blue is just the companies take on cream soda. Big red on the other hand is cream soda with almond flavor, not bubblegum or cotton candy. I think the difference between the two is drastic and besides both sharing vanilla flavor, I have never confused the flavor of one for the other

  2. Big blue is just the companies take on cream soda. Big red on the other hand is cream soda with almond flavor, not bubblegum or cotton candy. I think the difference between the two is drastic and besides both sharing vanilla flavor, I have never confused the flavor of one for the other.

  3. Don’t let your taste buds fool you, that’s not bubble gum you’re tasting, it’s red food coloring, but also a citrus blended with vanilla (as the cream soda would be). To me it’s bitter enough to take the gag out of vanilla overload from regular cream soda. 🙂

  4. So here’s your answer. Big Red and Big Blue are the exact same drink except for one difference. Big Blue has a touch more sugar than Big Red which makes it “almost” identical in blind taste tests, but you can detect a slight more sugar with Big Blue. The Blue color makes you think it tastes significantly different, kind of like cotton candy. While Big Red is closer to bubble gum.

Leave a Reply

