Pac-Man Fruit Bonus Energy Drink

I’m not a huge fan of energy drinks.  I enjoy the occasional Vodka Red Bull or, in a pinch a Vodka Rock Star, but on their own I find energy drinks to be pretty putrid.  But I’m also a sucker for a great label, which is how I came to purchase two cans of Pac-Man Bonus Fruit Energy Drink.

You’d think with a name like Pac-Man BONUS FRUIT Energy Drink that the drink itself would taste, I don’t know, fruity.  It does now.  In fact, on not-even-closer inspection of the label, it clearly states, “Contains no fruit or fruit juice.”  Which isn’t surprising at all since Pac-Man Bonus Fruit Energy Drink tastes almost exactly like Red Bull.  Except that it’s sweeter.  And if you close your eyes and take a shallow breath, you can almost smell fruit.  But once you taste it, that fruit sensation is obliterated by energy drink taste.

I used to love to play Pac-Man when I was a kid.  I was descent on the arcade version, but just killed on the much-easier Atari home version.  I could still be playing the game I started in 1981 if I hadn’t had to, uh, live a life.  I guess it’s a good thing that the energy drink version of Pac-Man waited until I was old to be released, as the label clearly reads, “PRODUCT NOT RECOMMENDED FOR CHILDREN.”

It’s basically morons like me that buy this shit, I guess.  People who make every purchased based exclusively on packaging.  That said, it’s really no more expensive than a can of Red Bull, so I don’t feel that I got completely taken.

The company that makes this syrup water is the Boston America Corp., who I have not heard of until right now.  They seem to specialize in products that cash in on the cultural milestones of my youth.  Hey, I’m not judging.  I’m all for it.  Just take a look at their site.  Awesome.  ColuMn doesn’t usually take the step to endorse a company or their products, but in this case we just might (we won’t – cmsof).

ColuMn FACTS!
110 Calories
175 mg fat
28 g Sugars
30 g Carbohydrates

ColuMn Fun Fact™:  Contains 70% of your Recommended Daily Allowance of Vitamin B6 and 210% of Vitamin B12!

ColuMn Rating:  ★★

One thought on “Pac-Man Fruit Bonus Energy Drink

Leave a Reply

