White Fudge Covered Oreo

Back in the 90s, while browsing the cookie aisle in search of some holiday munchies, I discovered White Fudge Covered Oreo (I don’t know why they don’t make it plural, but I’m going with it). Back then the box was a thing of majestic beauty. You’d remove the exterior decorative wrapped to expose a simple white box. Lifting the lid, the sight greeting you was a dozen virgin white cookies arranged vertically in almost military precision, each cookie held snugly in its own slot of a clear platic tray. The invitation to devour was impossible to resist.

From the moment of discovery through today, when green and red start taking over the store shelves, I have always kept an eye peeled for the delicious seasonal indulgences. There were a few years that I couldn’t find any. Those were dark years. It’s a memory best left in the past.

White Fudge Covered Oreo are not something I’ll actively hunt down, but they are something I’ll snap up immediately if I spot them, without hesitation, for these are my all-time favorite cookies. I realize that white chocolate (and white fudge) are not something most people like. I don’t understand it, and like most things pertaining to taste, it’s difficult for people to verbally express exactly what they don’t like about it. I think a big part of it is that it doesn’t have a very good name. White Chocolate. It’s not right. Chocolate isn’t white. I think when most people hear the word “chocolate” they have a very specific culinary experience in mind. White Chocolate is in need of some aggressive re-branding.

But I’m way off point here. White Chocolate Covered Oreo is exactly what they claim it to be: a regular ol’ Oreo cookie completely covered with thick white chocolate. It’s a lot like the hard chocolate shell that covers an ice cream cone. That consitency, though the texture is softer. It tastes, as you’d imagine, like white chocolate and Oreo cookie. When the chocolate cookie, white chocolate coating, and creamy center intermix, magic orgasms in your mouth.

If you like white chocolate, I can’t recommend these highly enough. If you don’t like white chocolate, you will most likely not like them, and I can offer you nothing but my pity and smug superiority.

ColuMn FACTS!

Leave a Reply

