Top 100 Horror Flicks: Class of 2009

Instead of just reposting last year’s list, I’ve decided to just list the six movies that I’m adding to it, and giving the approximate number where it would fit in the overall list.  Unfortunately, that means that six films have dropped out of the Top 100.  If I were to recreate the entire list today, would it necessarily be #100-95 from last year?  Probably not.  The world will never know.

#98 – PHANTASM (1979)

Phantasm
Directed by Don Coscarelli
Genre:  Mortuary
Last Year’s Rank:  NEW
Rating:  3 stars

I’ve been meaning to see this one for years, and finally sat down and did it.  Pretty much what I figured it would be.  A pretty good story and a memorable villain, but horror’s come a long way.

#67 – MY BLOODY VALENTINE (1981)

My Bloody ValentineDirected by George Mihalka
Genre:  Slasher
Last Year’s Rank:  NEW
Rating:  3.5 stars

Another one that I’ve finally watched, thanks primarily to My Bloody Valentine 3-D.  I’ve got to admit that I enjoyed the remake more, but that might have been thanks to the excellent 3-D.  What more can you ask for?  It’s got mystery, sex, and lots of pick axes to the skull.

#47 – TRICK ‘R TREAT (2008)

Trick 'r Treat
Directed by Michael Dougherty
Genre:  Anthology
Last Year’s Rank:  NEW
Rating:  4 stars

It’s criminal that this wasn’t released into theaters.  One of the most enjoyable horror flicks I’ve seen in a while.  It’s an anthology movie, but all of the stories (give or take) take place on one Halloween night.  It’s not the scariest movie out there, but it’s a lot of fun.

#35 – LÅT DEN RÄTTE KOMMA IN (LET THE RIGHT ONE IN (2008)

Let The Right One In
Directed by Tomas Alfredson
Genre:  Vampire
Last Year’s Rank:  NEW
Rating:  4 stars

This movie was a big deal last year and I guess Hollywood is prepping the mandatory remake, but don’t let the subtitles turn you off.  This is one of the most unique and involving vampire stories to come along in forever.

#27 – QUARANTINE (2008)

Quarantine
Directed by John Erick Dowdle
Genre:  Zombie
Last Year’s Rank:  NEW
Rating:  4 stars

I’m not sure what makes the handheld camera technique so effective in horror movies.  I guess it just makes the happenings that much more real.  This is one of the easier to watch handheld cam movies, but it doesn’t rely on the camera work to fill in for scares.  A great zombie tale with a palpable sense of dread.

#16 – PARANORMAL ACTIVITY (2007)

Paranormal Activity
Directed by Oren Peli
Genre:  Ghost
Last Year’s Rank:  NEW
Rating:  4.5 stars

All I can say is, “Wow.”  I’m not sure how this movie slipped through my radar, but the first I heard of it was this past Thursday.  Luckily, Seattle is one of the few towns screening it and I was able to make an emergency trip to the theater.  This is one very scary movie.  It employs the handheld camera technique, but it really works.  It’s the kind of movie that sticks with you after you leave the theater.  Seriously, don’t watch this alone, but watch it the first chance you get.  Movies like this don’t come along that often.

7 thoughts on “Top 100 Horror Flicks: Class of 2009

  1. hi! this is a great site, i needed good scary films! Let the right one in was THE BEST in my opinion, i need to get it back from my friend…

  2. cool!!! well totaly impressed 🙂 keep it up this informative work.. and yes u can have little gift if u think this worth for u free air ticket for u … click my name for that and yes dont forget to thank me .. i will be apriciate this web blog always..

    • Glad to. WordPress doesn’t make it easy.

      On the top right of any page, you’ll see a box that says “RSS Feeds”. Click on “RSS – Posts”. That should open up the RSS feed. Basically just copy that URL (https://cmsof.wordpress.com/feed/) and paste it into whichever reader you use. I use Google Reader, where there’s a button in the upper left corner that says, “Add a subscription”. Paste that url into the box that opens up, hit “Add” and you’re done!

      Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

