The Volcano Box

The Volcano Box

After trying the Volcano Taco back in October, I thought I’d probably be back for more.  But it didn’t turn out that way.  In my quest to not die before the premiere of Melrose Place, my visits to Taco Bell were extremely sparse.  So much so that recently I began to wonder if the Volcano Taco even still existed.  As things often happen, within 24 hours I caught the commerical for the Volcano Burrito.  I was sold.  To hell with living.  I had to have me a Volcano Burrito.

Box

As I pulled up to the drive-thru of my local Taco Bell, I immediately saw the ad for The Volcano Box.  No other thought was required from that point on.  I ordered The Box with a Mountain Dew Baja Blast.  Rushing home, it was all I could do not to pry open the cover of the wonderous box to inspect the prizes contained within.

You can feel the years tick off just looking at it.

Sure, it comes with not only a Volcano Double Beef Burrito, but a Volcano Taco.  Even thatwouldn’t require a box to contain it.  So they did what they had to do and threw in a bag of Cinnamon Twists AND another plain old hard shell taco.  I don’t know what I did to deserve it, but somehow the tacos had mated and reproduced while being transported from Taco Bell to my house, and a Double Decker taco had magically appeared.  Yes, that’s an unhealthy amount of Taco Bell “food”, but dammit,  I was up to the challenge, having already conceded I was most likely going to die from this.

Burrito

Mmmm.  The juicy goodness.  Of course, the first thing I hit was the Volcano Double Beef Burrito.  How could I resist?  I have to say, the Volcano Double Beef Burrito is awesome.  It has the Taco Bell meat, cheese, rice, and the hot cheese sauce that is also used on the Volcano Taco.  But it also has little bits of the hard red tortilla shell that they use to make the Volcano Taco.  And this really makes all the difference.

Mmmmmm.  Saliva-y.

If you’re completely wasted and find yourself behind the wheel of your car at 1:30 on a Wednesday morning, you should definitely consider hitting the Taco Bell drive-thru and ordering The Volcano Box.  At $6.50, it’s a great value.  The food is very spicy for fast food and, as an unexpected bonus, actually pretty tasty.

One negative was that my Mountain Dew Baja Blast had next to no actual Mountain Dew Baja Blast syrup in it.  Comprised 90% of carbonated water, it did not have the desired effect of washing town this metric ton of fast food.

2 thoughts on “The Volcano Box

  1. I can honestly say I’ve never seen a Taco Bell review… well done. I don’t see a blog post about our giveaway though :)… can you send me the direct link to it?

Leave a Reply

