Sky Bar

Necco's Sky Bar

There was one thing that compelled me to buy this candy bar.  The name “Necco” right there in the upper left hand corner.  To the best of my knowledge, Necco isn’t exactly known for their chocolate.  Not expected much, I pluncked down my money and went for it.

Necco Chocolate
The gimmick behind this candy bar (because let’s face it, nobody’s going to invent another Snickers anytime soon) is that each section of the bar contains a different flavored filling.  Here’s the rundown:

 

Fudge

Fudge

 

Sorry for the  blurry picture.  I was, as usual, incredibly drunk on photo day.  Anyway, this was my first taste of the Necco Sky Bar and I was instantly impressed.  Mmm.  Extremely good and chocolately.  This is a great start.

 

Peanut

Peanut

 

The second square (or third if you’re eating it the way you’re “supposed” to) is called “Peanut”.  You might expect there to be, I’m just tossing this out there, a peanut or something inside.  There are no peanut bits, but the nougat is definitely peanutty.  This sort of tastes like a Snickers bar without the chunks.

 

Vanilla

Vanilla

 

I’m a big fan of vanilla and was looking forward to this one most of all.  I was not disappointed.  This one had the pearly white nougat and tasted almost exactly like a Cadbury Easter Creme Egg.  It made me wonder if Necco and Cadbury weren’t using the same chocolate.  Maybe even the same factory.

 

Caramel

Caramel

 

And then, finally, we come to the traditional “caramel”.  You know what this tastes like?  A chocolate-covered soft caramel.  Good job, Necco.

What a delightful surprise.  Necco, as we all know, is primarily known for their chalky candy wafers, with a seasonal nod to their Valentine’s Day Conversation Hearts.

This new “variety” candy bar is like a miniature collection of boxed candies, in the Russell Stover or Sees tradition.  This is a very good candy bar.  And how do they do it?  How do they make one bar with four different fillings?  Some mysteries are never meant to be solved, and this is one of them.

This comes highly recommended if you can find it.  Though it’s been around a while, this is the first time I have encountered it.

ColuMn FACTS!

Serving size: 1 bar
Calories:  200
Caleries from fat:  80
Sodium: 50mg
Sugars: 27g

ColuMn Fun Fact™: Sky Bar was first introduced in 1938!

6 thoughts on “Sky Bar

  1. Mmm. That’s sounds simply delish! Please make one and send it to:

    Glenn Beck
    P.O. Box 900
    Attn: FOX BROADCASTING Publicity Dept.
    Beverly Hills, CA 90213-0900

  2. Okay, I’m about to get disgusting.

    How about a Sky bar for Sparks? Four different kinds of poop filling. Let’s see. Cat. Possum. Raccoon. And maybe Rabbit. All neatly packed in chocolate.

    Well, it would make a nice gift for Sparks, anyway.

  3. You’re making me hungry again. I haven’t seen this one yet. I guess Trader Joe’s doesn’t sell it. I love the fact that you have all that variety in one bar. It’s made for the indecisives like me.

Leave a Reply

