Top 10 Friday the 13th Movies

10. Friday the 13th Part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan (1989)

Jason Takes Manhattan

Two movies didn’t make this list:  Friday the 13th Part V: A New Beginning (1985) and Jason Goes To Hell (1993).  You can really consider slot #10 a three-way tie.  These are all just bad movies that are barely watchable, even for a Friday the 13th fan.

9.  Freddy vs. Jason (2003)

Freddy vs. JasonThis is a huge improvement over #10.  Jason’s kind of lame in this one, what with his long, flowing locks, but he does have some great kills (the cornfield kills are pretty awesome).  At least the filmmakers knew there was just no way Jason loses to Freddy, even if the ending was a let-down.

8.  Jason X (2001)

Jason XI know a lot of Friday the 13th fans really hate this one, but I sort of like it.   Yes, it’s absurd.  Jason in space sounds fucking terrible, I grant you.  But it has David Cronenberg, Cyber-Jason, and some decent special effects.  It’s not the scariest movie on the list, but it is one of the more solidly entertaining entries.

7.  Friday the 13th Part VI:  Jason Lives (1986)

Jason LivesThis was, until fairly recently, my standby answer to the question, “What’s your favorite Friday the 13th flick?”  But I’ve come to appreciate  other chapters more, while becoming more critical of this lighter-in-tone installment.  C.J. Graham is my all-time favorite Jason, though.

6.  Friday the 13th Part II (1981)

Friday the 13th Part IIGood ol’ Sackhead.  Yep. Part II is the one before Jason’s gets his infamous mask.  Don’t let that deter you, though.  It’s still an effective entry, with by far the most human incarnation of Jason.  And Amy Steel is perhaps the most memorable final girl.

5.  Friday the 13th (2009)

Friday the 13th (2009)The remake takes the center spot on the list.  There are many reasons it doesn’t rank higher (see my review), but it is really a nice addition to the Friday the 13th canon and hopefully a great starting point for a rebirth of the franchise.

4.  Friday the 13th Part VII:  The New Blood (1988)

The New BloodI really thought this one was stupid for a LONG time.  I still do, but Kane Hodder’s first appearance as Jason just makes up for a lot of the stupidity inherent in a Jason vs. Carrie story.  There are a lot of great, memorable kills in this one, too.  The sleeping bag kill, the weed wacker, and the party horn are just a few.  Fans are STILL waiting for an uncut version of this to be released on DVD (fucking Paramount).

3.  Friday the 13th Part III (1982)

Friday the 13th Part IIIIt’s not only because it’s in 3-D that this one ranks so highlly.  Jason gets his mask, there are some great kills, and yeah, it’s in 3-D.

2.  Friday the 13th (1980)

Friday the 13thThe movie that started it all.  We only see Jason as a boy, but we get to know his mom a little in this suspenseful mystery that’s part Agatha Christie and part Halloween rip-off.  It’s still an effective thriller, even knowing who the killer is.

1.  Friday the 13th: The Final Chapter (1984)

The Final ChapterI’ve really gained a new appreciation for this entry.  There are scares, suspense, laughs, gore, and Corey Feldman.  It’s very atmospheric, with a nice twist on the ending to Part II.  But did anyone really believe that Jason was really gone for good?  Here we are, 25 years later, and Jason is, to quote Tommy Jarvis, stronger than ever.

9 thoughts on “Top 10 Friday the 13th Movies

  1. I saw the first three, but only because my boyfriend at the time was into it. Otherwise, sorry, I was not into Friday the 13th much. Some trivia: I was in Argentina some time back and they were showing one of the many sequels and the movie title was Tuesday, the 13th. I thought that was funny. They have a different day for bad luck. But I only remember 3D most of all because of when the guy passes the joint. I think I everyone in the movie theater reached out to take the joint.

    It’s the little things.

  2. Okay, it was Friday the 13th, Final Chapter that I saw with like every 8th grader from Shuksan at Sehome Cinemas. (I remember because I word my neckgear and couldn’t understand why the boy I liked wasn’t paying attention to me.) Anyway, my two friends and I were so freaked out. We came out to use the pay phone to call our parents to pick us up and the phone wasn’t working! I think we rode home in the back of someone’s truck or something (don’t tell Mom). Haven’t watched many since. Maybe I’ll be brave enough today. Probably not. Love your reviews though.

Leave a Reply

