December

December

In the vacuum of space
On a charged, frozen night
The shooting stars race
Black void pierced by white light

On a charged, frozen night
Immaculate specks streak by
Black void pierced by white light
Whirlwinds of snow swirling high

Immaculate specks streak by
Delicate constructs enduring
Whirlwinds of snow swirling high
Individuality obscuring

Delicate constructs enduring
Joining billions of their kind
Individuality obscuring
Leaving no trail behind

Joining billions of their kind
The shooting stars race
Leaving no trail behind
In the vacuum of space

13 thoughts on “December

  1. Dear Sparks and BlackJack:

    OH SHIT!! Then again, he doesn’t seem unusually thirsty. It’s just that he samples different water sources as if he enjoys the subtle flavors. If I’m too slow changing his water bowl in the morning, he smacks his bowl, knocking most of the water out and gives me that “Bitch. My water’s old. Change it. Now” look. Felines!

    And BlackJack, calm down and break out the catnip. Sparks will be back to his usual self in no time.

  2. What the hell, Sparks? A semi-serious answer? Where’s the poop joke? Where’s the dismissive one-liner?

    I’m sorry, Gigi. I know you expect much, much less of ColuMn. It won’t happen again.

  3. I can’t speak for cats, or even dogs. Since I’m really not a dog at all, but a robot. But if I had to guess, I’d say “Yeah”. they can taste different flavors. BlackJack’s cat won’t eat certain types of food, even though it’s the identical size and texture of other foods she likes.

    My suggestion: Do an experiment. Fill identical bowls or cups with plain water, and then water with a subtle flavor variation (like say a couple drops of lemon). And see what happens.

    The other possibility is that your cat has some sort of thyroid condition and is so thirsty he will just drink out of anything. Hopefully not, but I know a cat that had that condition.

  4. Hey Sparks.

    Back from lunch. Okay. Here’s my question. My cat drinks water from his bowl, anybody’s drinking cup, the tub, the bathroom sink, the kitchen sink, the tops of the shampoo containers and any soaking pots on the kitchen counter. Do cats (and maybe dogs) sense different flavors in water? And most importantly, does that make him a connoisseur d’eau?

    gigi

  5. I just read it. That’s some funny “shit”! And it gives stuffed mushrooms a whole new meaning for me. I’ve got a question for Sparks. Shall I post it here, or elsewhere?

Leave a Reply

