ColuMn Face-Off: Jones Blue Bubble Gum Soda vs. Big Red

BIG RED VS             

A few weeks back I tried the Jones Soda Blue Bubble Gum Flavor for the first time.  Prior to actually trying it, I have to admit it sounded pretty disgusting.  But I was thirsty and it was there.  I was surprised to discover that it actually tasted a lot like my favorite soda when I was a kid, Big Red.  I knew at that point that there was one certainty in my life:

Baaaa-DOOOOOOMMMM

a ColuMn™ Face-Off™.

I couldn’t find Big Red in a bottle at the store, so I had to settle for a 12-pack of cans.  That’s right.  To try a few sips of this sugary red biohazard, I bought 12 cans.  But it was a worthwhile purchase.  I sat down and poured myself a sample of each soda.  Then I blindfolded myself and took a swig of the first one.

The first soda had a definite bite to it.  Like Coke has more of a bite compared to Pepsi.  It tasted good and I was pretty sure I’d found the Big Red when I moved onto the second glass.  This one didn’t have as much bite and left a strange aftertaste.  Whether that was due to two different sodas in a row or if the second soda has a distictive aftertaste I cannot positively say.  I was going to stick with my initial pick of the first soda as the Big Red.

Taste the blood of Dracula

Taste the blood of Dracula

I was wrong.  The first soda turned out to be the Jones Soda.  It’s definitely superior, in my opinion.  There are a number of factors that could contribute to that.  First, the Jones was from a bottle.  Cans just don’t taste as good.  Second, Jones uses pure cane sugar.  That could account for the strange aftertaste of the Big Red.  But I have to believe my tongue.  The Jones Soda Blue Bubblegum Soda is the clear victor in this ColuMn™ Face-Off™.

The tangy nectar of the creature from the blue lagoon

The tangy nectar of the creature from the blue lagoon

BlackJack and I would like to congratulate Jones soda on destroying a childhood icon so completely.  Big Red was left whimpering in the corner, quietly mouthing the word, “Why?” over and over again until I finally put it out of its misery.

7 thoughts on “ColuMn Face-Off: Jones Blue Bubble Gum Soda vs. Big Red

  1. Plantain chips are nice. They’re really greasy like potato chips, but have a more distinct starchy almost bland flavor. Which is why you need something ultra-sweet to kind of balance it out.

    It was the snack combo de rigueur when I was a kid kickin’ ass in The Bronx. Okay, I only kicked one ass, but that was all I needed to get a rep.

  2. Plantain chips? I’ve never had the pleasure. Hmmm.

    The Bubble Gum sodas are sickeningly sweet. I still have 8 or so cans of Big Red in the fridge from when i wrote this article. But I think I’m going to crack one open.

  3. Once again, something I’ll have to try. Actually, two things. I’ve never had Big Red or Jones Blue Bubblegum soda. But when I was a kid I had something called Champagne Cola. Diferent brands, but they all taste similar. Like bubblegum. I recently tried one and I remember why I loved it so much as a kid. It tastes like pure sugar, you know, like bubble gum. And then I remembered I used to have it with plantain chips. Perfect combination.

    Damn! Everytime I come in here, I get hungry!!

Leave a Reply

