Friday the 13th Trailer Review

I’ll be the first to admit that the Friday the 13th film series is a pretty shoddy franchise. Yeah, I love the movies like 14 year old girls love Titanic, but unlike those 14 year old girls, I recognize that these movies aren’t high art. They exist for one reason one: to show creative, gruesome deaths. And in that sense, they achieve their goal with flying colors.

So it’s not like I took the news of a Friday the 13th “re-imagining” as blasphemous–something that would ruin the integrity of the original films. Even with Michael Bay masterminding the whole affair, I’m more than willing to give it a shot. It can’t be any worse than Friday the 13th Part V: A New Beginning. Right?

I’ve been following the development and production of the new Friday the 13th on the internet and was excited to see the bootleg clip of the trailer shown at the recent San Diego Comic-Con. Overall, I thought the trailer was really, really good. You’ve got it all there. Nubile young potential victims, a hulking killer in a hockey mask, a severed head, some impaling, and, of course, ki-ki-ki ha-ha-ha.

You can find the trailer online if you do a quick search. It’s not exactly easy to find, but it’s not impossible. I was able to find it with minimal effort. I’m not going to post the entire trailer here, but I do have this short clip that I want to talk about. Sorry for the quality.

Check out the trailer here.

So, in case you couldn’t make it out, around the 2:15 mark, that’s Jason Voorhees running after a victim that’s on the ground, trying to back away as Jason raises his machete for the killing blow. I’ve heard some fans say this is terrible: Jason doesn’t run. But isn’t that one of the problems with the F13 films? It’s so stupid that Jason lumbers along at a snail’s pace as his victim sprints ball-out, but Jason somehow keeps pace. Stupid. People forget, I think, that Jason was pretty quick in Friday the 13th Part 2 and, to a lesser extent, Friday the 13th Part 3-D and Friday the 13th Part IV: The Final Chapter. It wasn’t until Jason became a zombie in Friday the 13th Part VI: Jason Lives that he started moving like he was trying to run through a swimming pool filled with Jell-o.

I think this looks great. And, like I said, I LOVE the original film series (yes, I even like the aforementioned Part V. Hell, I even have a soft spot in my heart for Friday the 13th Part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan.

Really looking forward to this. The trailer looks incredibly promising. Here’s hoping for many, many more years of Jason’s wacky exploits.

People have had a problem with the above promotional image too. Yeah. It looks sort of weird. But I’d still hate to run across that guy in the woods.

9 thoughts on “Friday the 13th Trailer Review

  1. I think I’ll stick with ColuMn’s resident hero and share his wacky adventures in “The O’Connor Chronicles”! Episode Two: The Lesson is only one week away!

    And if you’re using crappy Microsoft Explorer as your browser, you won’t be able to see it. Switch over to Firefox.

  2. I couldn’t play the clip and I’m too chicken to search for it.

    You would have loved this old, abandoned house we found over in Winthrop. It had the bats in the attic and the seriously creepy cellar. Rat shit everywhere, old furniture turned over, boards missing on the staircase, stains on the wall, even a sheet poking through the ceiling. Looked like a ghost! I kept making Scooby-doo jokes but I was seriously freaked out. I was the first to go in, with a bunch of kids and another adult, but I refused, remembering that the first person always gets killed. So, I ended up being last! Evern worse! The kids were fearless. You could tell they hadn’t seen any scary movies. Kaleb and Henry even rode up (through rattlesnakes) at night to carve their initials in the wall. Seriously, they have not seen any horror movies.

    You should head up there to make a movie. It’s a movie set, ready to go. I dare you to go in the cellar. Don’t step on the dead rat on the way down.

Leave a Reply

